Friday, 30 March 2012

DEMILICH - Nespithe (1993)

01  When The Sun Drank The Weight Of Water
02  The Sixteenth Six-Tooth Son Of Fourteen Four-Regional Dimensions
03  Inherited Bowel Levitation - Reduced Without Any Effort
04  The Echo (Replacement)
05  The Putrefying Road In The Nineteenth Extremity
06  (Within) The Chamber Of Whispering Eyes
07  And You'll Remain... (In Pieces In Nothingness)
08  Erecshyrinol
09  The Planet That Once Used To Absorb Flesh In Order To Achieve Divinity & Immortality
10  The Cry
11  Raped Embalmed Beauty Sleep

"Nespithe" is the only full-length studio album by Finnish death metal act Demilich. The music on offer here is technical, twisted and quite a bizzarre sounding take on death metal. Their extremely long and oddly titled songs further add to the innovative nature of the music. The album's title Nespithe, re-arranged backward spells out "The Spine" and also the song Erecshyrinol, reads as "No Lyrics Here" in a similar fashion. The band consisted of vocalist/guitarist Antti Boman, guitarist Aki Hytönen, bassist Ville Koistinen, and drummer Mikko Virnes.

Frontman, Antti Boman is one of the most bizarre, unique and difficult vocalists in all of metal. He sounds like he's literally burping out his twisted lyrics, and this can be a major turnoff. However, there is no better way to fit Demilich's music than the way Boman delivers. He also sounds similar to a de-tuned bass string being sharply plucked, which does create a very weird, jarring harmony with the rest of the band. So, your standard death growl or bark would just be out of place here. The sound production is pretty organic and gritty but still clear enough for the listener to hear all instruments at work in the mix. The band certainly do manage to obtain a sense of chaos with their unpredictable arrangements, but they never just throw in random riffs for the sake of it. Every song is composed coherently and with creative thought behind it.
The only negative criticisms I can really make about this record are that it is too short (44mins approx) and that the cover artwork is quite amateurish.

This otherworldly piece of ear slaughter was originally released on Necropolis Records back in 1993, it was then re-released by Repulse Records three years later. The album was featured in Terrorizer's Secret History of Death Metal, in their list of "The 40 Albums You Must Hear" The demo song “Embalmed Beauty Sleep“ was covered by German death metal band Fleshcrawl. 'Nespithe' may not have the dynamic approach that would have made it a masterpiece back in the early 90s, but there's no denying this album's unique place as a memorable classic. Definitely one that has to be heard by the die-hard death metal connoisseur...

No comments:

Post a Comment