Tuesday, 20 March 2012

HATE ETERNAL - Fury & Flames (2008)

01  Hell Envenom
02  Whom Gods May Destroy
03  Para Bellum
04  Bringer Of Storms
05  The Funerary March
06  Thus Salvation
07  Proclamation Of The Damned
08  Fury Within
09  Tombeau (Le Tombeau De La Fureur et Des Flames)
10  Coronach

Hate Eternal are a death metal band from St. Petersburg, Florida, that formed in 1997. The group's original line-up included Erik Rutan (of Morbid Angel fame) on guitars/vocals, bassist and co-vocalist Jared Anderson, drummer Tim Yeung, and guitarist Doug Cerrito of the band Suffocation. The band's name came from an old Ripping Corpse demo song.

Rutan bore this beast after a couple of very dark years for the band which reached their lowest ebb when Jared Anderson passed away unexpectedly in October 2006. Rather than give up, though, Erik deputized Shaune Kelley, his childhood friend and guitar partner from his Ripping Corpse days to help out on guitar and in a masterstroke of band management recruited Cannibal Corpse main man and monster bassist Alex Webster to hold down the bottom end. The drum throne - still spinning from Derek Roddy's hasty departure - was soon filled by unknown wunderkind Jade Simonetto. The playing here then, is without doubt top-notch technical death for the modern metal world, backed up by probably the best production the band have had to date. I personally enjoyed "I, Monarch" although I'm aware that album has had it's fair share of critisism, I must say that this release is definitely a step up.

While the lyrics tend to get swallowed up by the pure power of the band's playing, there is plenty of meat in Erik Rutan’s songwriting. You can feel the frustration on “Whom Gods May Destroy”, as well as the reverence on “The Funerary March”. These touches mixed with standard death metal themes, found on angrier cuts like “Proclamation Of The Damned” and “Fury Within”, show Hate Eternal as one of the most well rounded acts on the scene today.

Yes, it is yet another totally merciless death metal assault from Hate Eternal, but there is also a very deep emotional vibe to this entire album. This album exudes not only grief, but venomous anger and frustration of dealing with loss and as a result, Fury And Flames is a musical step forward on all fronts.
If there is a weak point to be found, it may lie with the thickness of the guitars which dominate everything, including the drums. While not groundbreaking to the genre, Fury And Flames could truly set Hate Eternal firmly among the upper-tier in death metal today with some successful touring and proper promotion...

No comments:

Post a Comment