Tuesday, 20 March 2012

JUNGLE ROT - Kill On Command (2011)

01  Their Finest Hour
02  Blood Ties
03  Rise Up And Revolt
04  Kill On Command
05  Demoralized
06  Push Comes To Shove
07  I Predict A Riot
08  Show No Mercy (From The Merciless)
09  Born Of Contagion
10  Life Negated

Jungle Rot hail from a town known as Kenosha, Wisconsin. The band has been active roughly since 1994 and have been consistent in their groove-laden death metal approach, releasing a new record about every 2-3 years. Kill On Command marks their eighth studio album and continues the sound Jungle Rot have carved out for themselves in the death metal world. If you’re not familiar with the band, you realize, after the first spin, that they don’t try to be technical at all; it’s just plain death metal with hammering riffs and pounding drums. The album begins with the powerful “Their Finest Hour”, which is full of energy, fast riffs and solos and pummeling drums. The title is quite fitting, as it's one of the band's best songs in my opinion. "Blood Ties" is another decent track here, which the band have filmed a promotional video for. The rest of the album is pretty much the same, standard fare which is why a lot of death metal fans (JR fans in particular) have accused Jungle Rot of phoning this one in...

Overly verbose vague dismissals notwithstanding, the facts are these: Jungle Rot makes the switch to oft-awful metalcore stalwart Victory Records for this one, the band’s sixth full-length. Victory isn’t exactly known for bringing out the best in their bands, and Jungle Rot isn’t exactly known for progressing, so the fact that Kill On Command manages to be a stouter and slightly more enjoyable effort than 2009’s Napalm-released "What Horrors Await" is something of a double surprise… even if the difference between this and what came before isn’t exactly leaps and bounds. If nothing else, Jungle Rot benefits from what appears to be a bigger budget in the production department, as Kill On Command sounds better than "What Horrors Await".

So chalk this up as somewhat of a win for Jungle Rot. This is competent mid-paced death metal with a decent amount of groove to it and a dash of hardcore thrown in for good measure. All the songs are generally sound-a-likes but I could equate that statement to Bolt Thrower or Cannibal Corpse, it may sound similar but it sounds good. Not essential, but a solid edition to the band's growing discography.

No comments:

Post a Comment