Thursday, 5 April 2012

DISMEMBER - Like An Ever Flowing Stream (1991)

01  Override Of The Overture
02  Soon To Be Dead
03  Bleed For Me
04  And So Is Life
05  Dismembered
06  Skin Her Alive
07  Sickening Art
08  In Death's Sleep
09  Deathevocation *bonus
10  Defective Decay *bonus

Like an Ever Flowing Stream is the debut album by Swedish death metal band Dismember, released in May 1991. The title may refer to the Biblical Book of Amos 5:24, "Let justice roll down like waters, and righteousness like an ever-flowing stream" (New International Version). What we have here is a pioneering swedish death metal album from the golden days of the early nineties. When putting "Like An Ever Flowing Stream" on, even to this day it doesn't sound out of date or stale by any sense of the word. Dismember play thunderous, ripping Swedish death that has remained unadulterated, yet maybe under-appreciated over the years. 

The riffing remains the most interesting and prominent part of Dismember's music and if you've heard Scandinavian death metal there is no need to fully describe it. The melodic sensibilities and rusty chainsaw-running-on-diesel guitar tones are very distinguishable as being from an early 90's Swedish band. Vocalist Matti Karki barks, gurgles, and roars like a pissed-off Rottweiler with a mouthful of fresh blood and rhythm guitarist Robert Sennebäck pleases with his chunky, fast-paced, violently-chugging riffs. Fred Estby delivers a pounding performance as his swift drum fills and unrelenting rapidness push the album forward. Bassist Richard Diamon is somewhat lost in the mix, at times, as he is lost within the violent tornado of guitar ingenuity and possessed vocals. This is the sound Dismember have continued to crank out right up to the present day, and it was all present virtually from their first demo.

This album received a bit of controversial press when it was released due to song titles such as 'Skin Her Alive' and was actually impounded by UK customs at the time for indecent and obscene lyrics. This in my opinion only helped the album to shift more copies and its lyrics were certainly no more 'obscene' than some of the other death metal metal acts around at the time (Cannibal Corpse, Autopsy etc). If you're a fan of Death Metal, chances are you already have a copy of this record and you've played it nearly to the point where it no longer works. If you're a fan of the genre and you don't own a copy, you need to get yourself one, simple as that.

*Nicke Andersson, at the time the drummer in Entombed played all the lead guitars except for the guitar solo on "Override of the Overture", which is played by David Blomqvist. A music video was made for the track "Soon to Be Dead" and the cover artwork was provided by Dan Seagrave.

No comments:

Post a Comment