Thursday, 19 July 2012

CANNIBAL CORPSE - Torture (2012)

01  Demented Aggression
02  Sarcophagic Frenzy
03  Scourge Of Iron
04  Encased In Concrete
05  As Deep As The Knife Will Go
06  Intestinal Crank
07  Followed Home Then Killed
08  The Strangulation Chair
09  Caged…Contorted
10  Crucifier Avenged
11  Rabid
12  Torn Through

Torture is the twelfth studio album by American death metal band Cannibal Corpse. The album was produced at Sonic Ranch Studios by Hate Eternal guitarist Erik Rutan and released on March 13th 2012 via Metal Blade Records.

There are but three things which are certain in this world: death, taxes and Cannibal Corpse making records. They’ve taken it upon themselves to act as a steadfast point of reference for what death metal is and, as the genre’s most famous export, preach to an ever-growing choir, but their days of innovation and notoriety are well behind them. They are now flag-bearers, ambassadors, ceremonial figures who bring death metal to the world on the behalf of those who are unable to, leaving artistic expansion to the bands that open their shows.

The sounds on Torture are pretty much identical to what you hear on every other record by Cannibal Corpse: If it ain’t broke, they aren’t fixing it. The production here is as clean as it’s been since 2006′s Kill. Amid the sea of non-metaphorical references of blood-drenched mayhem out of a slasher-flick minus the character development is actually an impressive collection of riffs and solos which salvages a weak exterior. “Intestinal Crank” and “Encased In Concrete” are early examples in this collection to play the chaotic chromatic game, firing forth a mess of dissonant tones , strung together like a monument of cadaver parts and cauterized with a blast of combusting lead guitar lines that reach all the way back to “Eaten Back To Life”. There’s also a heavy amount of gallop happy riffing on here, as heard on “The Strangulation Chair” and some all out speed thrashing as on “Rabid” that actually lean back musically to the finer moments of Chris Barnes’ tenure with the band.

You’ve got to give it to Cannibal Corpse. Let’s not forget that they’re working in a narrow paradigm here, and they’ve made almost eight hours of this stuff in a career lasting close to a quarter of a century. A little complacency could be forgiven, but thankfully the band members are able to renew their enthusiasm for the craft every few years and the release of 'Torture' has fallen just around one of those moments of rejuvenation. Haters will hate and lovers will love as indiscriminately as ever, but this is a good album from a band that usually fail to hold my interest.

No comments:

Post a Comment