Sunday, 15 July 2012

INSISION - Beneath The Folds Of Flesh (2002)

01  World Impaled
02  Trapped Within
03  Sado God
04  Temple Of Flesh
05  Rewind Into Chaos
06  Impamiiz Graa
07  My Fever
08  Before My Altar
09  Ex Oblivione

Insision is a death metal band from Stockholm, Sweden. They are currently signed to Sevared Records. 'Beneath The Folds Of Flesh' is the band's first full-length album, released on March 5th, 2002 via Wicked World Records. The band's lineup on this record featues; Carl Birath (vocals), Roger Johansson (guitar), Toob Brynedal (guitar), Daniel Ekeroth (bass) and Thomas Daun (drums).

Brutal, relentless and loud. Those three words decribe pretty well what the essence of this band is. Insision has only two gears, fast and faster. One might think that would get redundant on a full disc, but fuck no. These guys apply loads and loads of riffs in different structures, giving them just enough variation to last. Insision truly is the antithesis of conventional Swedish death metal. This simply means that those looking for something along the lines of Arch Enemy, The Haunted or Dark Tranquility won’t be very delighted about this record. Fans of old-school death metal, however, prepare to wet your pants for I can proudly say that Insision’s ‘Beneath The Folds Of Flesh’ is the perfect marriage of both Morbid Angel and Cannibal Corpse! Truth be told! And there’s chock full of stuff here that’s obviously influenced by those two bands as well by other bands in that line of death metal like Suffocation, Malevolent Creation and Deeds Of Flesh.

'Beneath the Folds of Flesh' leaves the listener battered and bruised, viciously mauling your ears with song after song of razor-edged intensity. "Sado God," "Rewind Into Chaos," and "Impamizz Graa" never release their grip from your throat, savagely choking you with remarkable force and lyrically, the band avoids the clichéd death metal style of blood and guts, and instead focus on telling outlandish Lovecraftian tales of the days of yore. Insision, due to a couple of demos released prior and probably a solid degree of experience under their belts doing the underground touring circuit thing know how to play American, brutal death to a very high standard, and I would highly recommend this to the casual, jovial death metal listener among you.

No comments:

Post a Comment