Tuesday, 10 July 2012

KATAKLYSM - Sorcery (1995)

01  Sorcery
02  Mould In A Breed
03  Whirlwind Of Withered Blossoms
04  Feeling The Neverworld
05  Elder God
06  Garden Of Dreams
07  Once... Upon Possessed
08  Dead Zygote
09  World Of Treason

'Sorcery' is the debut album by Canadian death metal band Kataklysm, released on February 10th 1995 by Nuclear Blast Records. It was later re-issued with 'The Mystical Gate of Reincarnation' as bonus tracks. The band formed in Montreal, Quebec around 1991. The band is well known for their incorporation of movie-quote samples in their music, as well for incorporating some melodic elements into their music while still not being classed as melodic death metal, courtesy of guitarist Jean-Francois Dagenais. They call their musical style "northern hyperblast" due to a frequently used drum pattern. The pattern often contains fast sixteenth beats on the snare drum, which are combined with a slow beat on the bass drum.

I still can't truly make up my mind about this album. It is in some respects like Dark Angel's early albums. There is so much brutality and so much going on within the music that it just overwhelms the listener sometimes and it is easy to get lost in the music. The band throw a lot of riffs around in too short of a time span and it takes a bit of getting used to. The vocals are lethal though, making this record sound somewhere between Dying Fetus and Sabbat. If you think you know brutal, rasping vocals, think again until you hear this guy (This is not Maurizio Lacono on the mic. It's their previous frontman – Sylvain Houde).

The songs are balanced by fairly standard triple-timed grindcore madness, dipping and swaying and jerking around a continuum that includes said grindcore, fairly technical American death metal and even At The Gates/early Dark Tranquillity type heroistic high-register guitar melodies. My favorite track, "Feeling The Neverworld", makes effective use of the latter, the best use of "solos" and also incorporates its influence in the most coherent manner (including a great bass solo), but also, like the rest of the album, has the unfortunate tendency to slip into a grind that sounds muddled and downright annoying. In fact, one of the better tracks is the final instrumental, "World Of Treason", which demonstrates how effectively this band can operate at a more sensible tempo.

It really is a bizarre album structurally with a fair amount of melody mixed into utter madness. There are plenty out there that praise this album for being incredibly chaotic and brutal. While I certainly won't argue that it isn't either of those things, I just don't think the end result is cohesive enough for my tastes. It's one of those albums where I'm enjoying it immensely one minute and then wishing it would stop the next.
Highlights include; "Mould In A "Breed", "Feeling The Neverworld" "Garden Of Dreams" and the closing instrumental World of Treason.

No comments:

Post a Comment